Home > Poetry > Country Boy

Country Boy

Nature ran its course over tepid streams
and struggling vines
and stranded voices of the vast open plain
on which,
laying all there was to offer
and all that could be jeopardised,
he put down in a moment of suspension
a parallel line between earth and sky
in the confession of fleeting unity.
This was the last time
I used the word ‘we’.
Nothing reminded me of him
more than the cows and the corn
and the soft shadow of a red-sky tomorrow.
It’s like you belonged in that other realm,
waiting to be painted by some Impressionist
impressed by the golden greys
of the still-life momentum.
Hay stacks and arched backs
echoed the times we made love
au naturel and en plein air:
thank God you’re a country boy!
Thank God for the forces
that held the universe together
long enough for us to meet and mate
and satiate
the senselessness of solitariness
with an arm
holding my universe
to his ever-heaving frame.
And now the wind blows through those furrowed fields,
fallowed and fallen silent in the shallow shade –
where you lay
at the time of the Great Harvest,
where you return all that you have borrowed,
where your grass is always green.

(2009)

  1. 06/10/2011 at 11:21 am

    I would say it can be my extremely 1st time viewing your web site. I can undoubtedly write that it contains a great number of helpful points. Excellent website. I just finished mine and i was looking for some ideas and you gave me a couple of. Great read!

    • 07/10/2011 at 10:02 am

      Thank you for the feedback. It is nice to know that after even such a short time, I am already having a bit of an effect in the world. I wish you all the best with your site.

  2. 07/10/2011 at 5:50 am

    Career Development Loan UK
    Hello would you mind stating which blog site platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog site in the near future but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m searching for something unique. P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • 07/10/2011 at 10:10 am

      In reply to your comment on my website, I do not know what other blog-site companies are like, but many other sites that I have seen are very cluttered and confused. WordPress seems to keep it fairly simple (though I still have a little trouble learning about HTML). They have about 120 designs which you can use for free, so I simply chose one of those. If you want something outside of those 120, you have to get your own unique domain name, and that costs a little. So because I am essentially “cheap”, I took the free option. I hope things go well for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

